HOTEL REVIEW - Malindi

destinations.gif

Have you visited any of the hotels recently?
Please give us your comments.
We will publish it here on our review page.

Kenyabeach.com promotes travel hotels safaris investment real estate along the Kenya Beach
Online booking for any hotel at the beach

Kenyabeach.com promotes travel hotels safaris investment real estate along the Kenya Beach
MOMBASA || DIANI || MALINDI || KILIFI || LAMU
Agenda || Accomodation guide || Entertainment guide || Hotel review || Travel || Maps

MALINDI/ WATAMU

HOTEL DESCRIPTION

REVIEW COMMENT

Aquarius Watamu Resort

Aquarius Watamu Resort

Aquarius Beach Resort at Watamu makes a great getaway - timeshare resort.
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

An absolutelu awful place. Like a perpetually unfinished building site. Meals are regimented and rushed all to be consumed in a hurry. Forget romantic meals as they force you to sit with strangers. Rooms are alright but substandard compared to ther placed in Kenya. The Italian dominating crowd at the Hotel is definitely on the racist/condescending side with regards to the locals. What a shame, since Watamu is in itself a beatiful place. Chuck Ewitt 1/8/05



Barracuda Inn Watamu

Barracuda Inn

The Barracuda Inn Watamu is an Italian managed "village" resort with 64 rooms. There are high thatched roofs and whitewashed walls. guests stay in cottages which are built in rows running back from the beach. There is a large swimming pool. Sports include tennis, squash, gymnastics and ping-pong.
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

Blu Club Malindi

Blu Club

Blu Club is situated next to Malindi Marine National Park, about 3 kilometres from Malindi Airport.
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.
Blue Marlin Malindi

Blue Marlin

This town hotel on the Malindi beach front has 145 basic rooms with air conditioning. There are sports facilities and two pools. It is a long walk through the hotel grounds to the beach.
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

We stayed twice at the blue marlin hotel when we first started visiting kenya in 1994 and 1995. Malidi was a lovely vibrant bustling town but has now been practically void of visitors for the past several years. Mainly Italian tourists and ladies of the night here. We had some wonderful times here and swore we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kenya but we did and havn't looked back since. The Blue Marlin closed down several years ago when the tourists disapeared from Malindi. On a recent visit back there we were told the hotel had actually started to fall down due to neglect. Sue and Paul Hartley 12/3/03

I stayed at the blue marlin hotel 7 years ago last week as i was only 18 years old then i was traveling alone on a 3 week holiday. i found this hotel to be the best hotel in melindi kenya , the staff were very helpfull and always on hand to help when you were in need ,also the food was really good with lots of selection to chooice from and most of all the resort is in one of the most favtastic locations in kenya right near the beach ,all in all i would well recommend this hotel to anyone and i hope to visit there againe real soon. Daren Wheeler 19/7/04

I have been to Malindi 6 times. Blue Marlin has always been a perfect hotel. Unfortunately it closed. The last two years i saw it in a bad situation. I would wish spending my holidays there again because the staff was always nice and helpful, the rooms were good and the atmosphere was wonderful! Now there are just some Hotels left. There are not very much tourists and the people lose there work. They need work, but can't find because many Hotels closed and even the restaurants and bars do not have many visitors. But I love Malindi and I really wish, that sometime the tourists come back there because it is such a neat place. Don't let it collaps!! Natascha17/10/04


destinations.gif
Destination of the weekCasablanca Villa Malindi Kenya

Casablanca Villa

Villa Casablanca is a small-scale and luxurious holiday-villa that will offer you the ideal atmosphere for a relaxing holiday, combined with a welcoming and hospitable service. This is your ideal base for exploring the sights and enjoying the nice weather of East Africa. Villa Casablanca is cosy, has a lot of character with a colonial and African touch, and is directly located at the Indian Ocean. Therefore you will enjoy the refreshing sea breeze wherever you go. You will soon feel at home here. The Villa is strategically located in a very quiet part of Malindi but is just a stone.s throw away from the lively city centre. You can also take your golf clubs and walk over to the 9-hole Malindi Golf & Country club, which is only 5 minutes away. The spacious architecture of the house, the large tropical garden and of course the Dutch management and its dedicated staff make sure that your personal wishes in this small-scale and comfortable atmosphere are fulfilled.
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

We stayed in Villa Casablanca end of 2004. a very nice and peacefull place. Everything is brand new and the view in our room was terrific!!!
Because there are only six rooms the place is very cozy, we felt like it was our own place during our holiday!!! Janet 28/2/05



Driftwood Beach Club Malindi

Driftwood Beach Club

The Driftwood Beach Club lies 3km south of Malindi town - a 5 minute drive from Malindi Airport. It is situated on the beautiful Silversands beach. The Driftwood recently celebrated its 40th birthday and is an old favourite of Kenya residents from both Malindi and up country. The Driftwood has a charm all of its own and, as it is small and privately owned, the attention to individual detail and care has always been maintained. Driftwood offers accommodation for 70 guests in individual air-conditioned bandas (cottages) which are en-suite. There are also two luxury Directors cottages situated in a private walled garden with a swimming pool. Each cottage has two air –conditioned en-suite bedrooms with a living room and veranda overlooking the pool


sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

A

Coconut Village Malindi

Coconut Village

Coconut Village is situated in Casuarina Point near the Malindi Marine National Park about 5 Kilometres from Malindi Airport. It is a 3 star hotel which caters mainly for the Italian clientele. Accommodation is offered on full board basis and there are many amenities/ facilities/ entertainment for the guest
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

Absolutely brilliant. Quiet with access to other facilities at sister hotel, Tropical African Village. Caroline Lemka 27/11/02


Lovely quiet hotel! excellent for relaxing! trip to casino good fun! Liz Lindley 10/8/04

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Coconut Village. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing, friendly atmosphere. We can't wait to go back someday. Brigitte/4/7/06

Have just returned from a holiday in Coconut Village, really relaxing, the staff are so friendly and the food was delicious. vera skinner 11/7/07

Spent a week at Coconut Village with family. Excellent value for money, very quiet and relaxing with the option of going to other hotels for entertainment shoud you wish. Would highly recommend Coconut Village for people travelling in groups - may be a bit quiet if you are on your own. Very friendly staff and delicious food! Will definitley return. Kate Armstrong 29/12/07


Eden Roc Malindi

Eden Roc

This is a large city-style hotel which has been recently renovated and looks fresh and clean. It caters primarily to inexpensive German package tours. There are sea views from the lobby and some of the rooms. It is a long walk through gardens, down terraces and past two swimming pools to the beach.


We did a seminar there with 42 guests and it was nice to visit the coast yet again.The Management of this hotel still lives in the bad old days ofMzungu is the Kind and the African are the underdogs. The Mzungu seems to think we do need his hotel but he forgets he needs us and this is why we all 42 of us checked out of the hotel after one day and we cancelled the 6 nights stay because of the arrogance. I predict and so do my friends as well that the year 2005 will be end of this hotel as the other hotels did becacuse of this arrogance by the mzungu Management who think they own Kenya and all they own are Makuti roofs. The Lawfords and Blue Marlin Mzungus were equally arrogant and do not even own anything as we know it at this moment in Time, So EDEN ROCK WATCH it. Onyango 5/8/05


sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

This large beach hotel is described as a city hotel denying any one wishing for a beach holiday, a seond thought of going there. My family, wife and my Son have been to this hotel over 20 times and we will always go there for our holidays, sometimes three times a year. We have over there our home, walking distance to the lovely town of Malindi and we meet the local community. this is why we just the EDEN ROC HOTEL. Uwe Both 4/10/02


Nice clean hotel,rooms are adeqate , friendly staff but the hotel lacks something that Scorpio Villas has and the grounds are only half as good. John Peters 22/8/04


As a youngster of 18 I stayed in this hotel for 6 months waiting for our house to be build. Wehad a nice time then. When I came back this year, aged 38, it showed that the hotel has been kept very well and hasn't lost his nice atmosphere. It was a bit to expensive tho for my wallet so we stayeed nextdoor in Tamani Jua and had the best time and splendid food !! Mama 29.9.04

iwas this hotel on october last year, iam really enjoy my holiday the staff, and the food is brilliant, the manager of the hotel mr.harry wanderi is very nice and freindly, the only thing idont like is same thing everytime like acrobatic, masai dance, they should do something different, and even the music at night the dj is crup, they should have nice music, not the same borring music my idea is if have nice music people stay long in the bar to dring, but if the music is not nice people go to sleep early, nice music keep people and stay long to have drinks, so ihope the will improve, iam going back again on june 4/06/05 for 1 week that why ilike it, the reception girls are very politely and nice so ihope the do the best to keep the tourist to coming back again, so i enjoy my holiday and itold all my freind about this hotel. ismail 1/6/05


Hemingway Resort Watamu

Hemingway Resort

Hemingway is an intimate, privately owned hotel built right at the edge of the beach. The impression is one of pristine whitewash and spacious stone terraces. The hotel exudes a casual upmarket elegance, it is also a romantic and relaxing get away, famous for honeymooners and deep-sea fishing. The hotel is raised 9 feet high so that it looks down on the sea. From the beach there is a fortress like wall giving a rather forbidding aspect to the hotel. The bar, dinning room, and reception area are in huge white rondavels with dramatic soaring thatched roofs. The main dinning room area has a sunken central area for buffet, band and dance floor. Tables are arrayed around the raised circumference area. Candlelit dinning is outside on the terrace from late November to Easter. During the rest of the year when the stronger winds are blowing, all meals are served in the main restaurant. The are two swimming pools in the hotel, and also several twin engine boats. Fishing trips are offered from August to May with the main bill dish being Sailfish and Marlin. All rooms have air-conditioning, mosquito nets, fans, and a safe for valuables. All of the rooms except the suites have a balcony and shower. The suites have bathtubs in addition to showers and a large sitting area instead of a balcony.
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

Thanks for the good work done here. I appreciate seeing on-line what Kenya has to offer-- saves me alot of time as I plan my next holiday in Kenya. I was however rather disappointed however, to notice that Hemingway have not advertised their going rates on their website. I may still have to make that trip to the travel bureau after all! Anne Krauss 13/2/01




My perfect holiday - fantastic food, large clean rooms, attentive staff,special touches like fowers, poems and quotes on you pillow, plus the management taking time to socialise and show local sights that you wouldnt normally come across. Lovely beach, excellent snorkling, super fishing in one stay we caught nearly a 100 kilo of tuna, a bull shark and a sail fish. Highly recommended. Miranda Bond 28/1/05

Second to none! We have travelled quite extensively internationally and in the UK but Hemingways is the best for professional service and a genuine smile from everyone! The location is superb, the food excellent and you are very lucky if you are going there! Chris Taylor 13/12/07

Hotel Villas Watamu

Hotel Villas Watamu

located in Watamu, one of the historic ancient town, under German Management , double and family bungalows with AC, gardens of tropical and brilliantly colourful Bougain Villea, hotel owning beach strip, mosaic swimming pool, Makuti restaurant, beach bar, Satellite TV, room telephone, supermarket and boutique, all sorts of watersports, wind surfing, deep sea fishing, Game viewing in Tsavo and Amboseli
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

We have stayed at these villas several times and find the accomodation & staff to be a great asset to Kenya. We have stayed in several hotels in Kenya over the past last 15 years and find this place to be warm & welcoming but also giving you privicy. With a bar, restaurant & swimming pool as you sep out of your clean spacious self-catering villa, you are also a walk away from the village where you can eat, drink and party the night away. Best place to stay in Watamu!!! Sarah & Robert Karisa 14/3/06



Karibuni Hotel Villas Malindi

Residence Karibuni Villas

At Karibuni Villas Time share members have the option of either using the self-catering facilities in their rooms to make meals for themselves or using the restaurants. In addition there are several restaurants in Malindi where you can dine. Depending on what you have booked, the office in Italy will advise you accordingly. You can not directly contact the Resort to book transfers for you. Since you booked the accommodation direct with the office in Italy then you have to contact them to arrange the transfer as well. All bookings are controlled from Italy through RCI (Time Share).
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

I have been to the Karibuni Villas at the end of November for 2 weeks. I had a great time overthere, good food, friendly people either management people that waiters, barman, cookers etc. It's a really great place that everybody in life should visit at least for one time...Go there and enjoy your vacation. Christina 20/3/03


Enjoyed a wonderful 14 days in September,complex beautiful although few people there,it actually made it a wonderful relaxing holiday.All the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much for them,especially Rama @ Silvester.Well recomended. J Finney 2/10/04

I was in the splendid karibuni villas kenya in February 2008 , my third time there.I was so sad to see this incredibly beautiful EXOTIC village deserted, thanks to the news given on TV relative to the problems following the presumed rigged elections last December. I wish the media would give news in a more detailed manner. 95% of the locals who once worked in all the tourist resorts have been left without work.The Coast Province is literally on its knees.What a waste of beauty, karibuni has so much to offer but who can it offer it to??? All I want to say is GO TO KENYA, give yourselves the chance to spend a magic and unforgettable holiday, the hospitality you'll receive will be well worth every penny you spend and at the same time you'll make the local people so very happy. Susanna 2/3/08


Palm Tree Club Malindi

Palm Tree Club

situated near the white, sea-lapped beaches of the Indian Ocean in Malindi at the Golf course, 40 suites in a timesharing hotel, immersed in a splendid Tropical garden under Italian Management , 2 swimming pools, international restaurant, tennis court, horse riding, beach bar and restaurant, snooker table, well equipped beaches and underwater excursions, PADI diving center,
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

Palm Tree Club - nowhere near the beach! The ride to the beach takes about 10-15 minutes, the beach itself is silversand, but swimming is difficult - the waves are too high, and water is brownish because the sand near the ocean is brown and in some places it is a quicksand. The hotel's grounds are perfect, there 2 swimming pools, one of them is very beautiful. The rooms are small. OK, but not the best. Natalia Sikalova 31/10/05



Scorpio Villas Malindi

Scorpio Villas

Scorpio Villas is situated near Casuarina Point, near the Malindi Marine Park. This 3 star hotel is situated about 5 kilometres from Malindi Airport. You can choose to stay on bed & breakfast, half board of full board basis.

sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

My husband and I have spent many happy holidays at Scorpio Villas. The management and staff are always helpful. We will be sorry to see Elsa and Romelo go but hope the new owners only make changes for the better. We will definitely be there this Xmas. Sherroll Foster 22/8/02


Just to say i had a wonderfull time at Scorpio, jan 2003 for 2 weeks, and the new management seems to working, a big thank you to all staff and management who made my stay in Malindi wonderful, i cant wait to come back, very very soon, love yvonne (room 34) ps i was the scuba diving lady Yvonne Murray 22/1/03

I have stayed at several hotels in Malindi and have not enjoyed any as much as Scorpio Villas. Excellent rooms , beautiful grounds with good choice of pools and friendly , helpful staff. So good that I am going back again in two months. John Peters 22/8/04

Hello - greetings from England! We are due to spend a week with you via Cosmos holidays from 24 April. Today I read some reviews on your resort and must say I am very worried. These were from guests staying with you only last month. You can read the reviews if you log onto www.tripadvisor.com and look up your resort. They say your staff were lovely and friendly but not been paid for 2 mths, they say the resort is run down, neglected and the food appalling. They also mention prostitues which worries me as to what kind of security you are offering as I know your country can be quite dangerous. I really want to look forward to this holiday but I have alarm bells ringing. Just wanted to know what you thought and if this was just a touble spot as reviews dating back to last year sounded very positive. I just hope your resort is not going downhill as its looks beautiful from the brochure photographs. Best wishes, Tonia 10/2/06

Stephanie Sea House Malindi

Stephanie Sea House

A primarily Italian Resort, Stephanie Sea House has 80 beds. A pool and raised restaurant overlook the beach and ocean. Cottage rooms are set far from the sea and close together. There is high thatch and Lamu-style furniture.
sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.
Turtle Bay Beach Club Watamu

Turtle Bay Beach Club

All-inclusive – meals, drinks, fun and entertainment for the whole family. Being amongst the top five beaches in the world, the Club offers excellent water sports facilities in a national Marine Park hosting an abundant variety of fish, coral and marine life. Plus hundreds of birds species to see and enjoy. The Club has 145 rooms set amongst 10 acres of tropically landscaped gardens. All rooms are en-suite with fans and air-conditioning. Your stay includes all meals, domestic drinks, sparkling wine, day and night entertainment, a supervised Kids Club and some of the friendliest staff you could hope to meet. Recommended by Europe’s top Tour Operators, Turtle Bay Beach Club is the place for a beach holiday and year after year over 3000 repeat guests turning back for a holiday treat of a lifetime.

sign.gif
SIGN
OUR GUEST BOOK
Have you visited this hotel recently?
Please give us your comments.

One of the best holidays I have ever had, staff was so friendly, plenty of activities during the day,evening entertainment super, I will be returning again soon. Patricia Harrison 16/10/05


This is a wonderful place for a holiday; especially being an ALL INCLUSIVE hotel. Been there severally and I always look forward to the next visit. The food and restaurants are above average; service is exceptionally good and there is no reason why you should not return to turtle bay over and over again. Two things though are worth mentioning. In this era of feeling good, you definitely need to get a gym going. Another thing is to have some kind of DSTV in the rooms if possible. Anthony Ndirangu 15/1/05

We visited Turtle Bay Beach Club for the fourth time in January 2006 after getting married there in January 1997. This hotel is fantastic and we are addicted! The management and staff do an excellent job to ensure that you have the holiday of a lifetime. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone and we look forward to returning next year. Roy and Karyn 14/02/06

Turtle Bay Beach club is a fantastic hotel situated on the most stunning beach we've ever seen. We have stayed here for the last 4 years which is not unusual as we meet so many people from previous years. The food is superb,Dennis in the Pizza restaurant was fantastic this year always managing to fit us in somewhere. As are the new alterations to the resaurant, and dance floor area not forgetting the new canoe bar which is a good place for a quiet drink, just as we were leaving the new reception furniture was arriving which looked very nice indeed, we,ll just have to wait till next year to try them out ! This a great place for children, so much for them to do organised by the funbase, who deserve a special mention for all their hard work keeping people entertained and for their hilarious fun base show on a sunday night ! not to be missed. One a final note I must mention the staff, they really are 5 star, we,ve never been to another hotel quite like this one before, the staff really make it for us, so friendly and genuine. We are looking forward to returning again next year. Philp Benn 30/9/06


MOMBASA || DIANI || MALINDI || KILIFI || LAMU
Agenda || Accomodation guide || Entertainment guide || Hotel review || Travel || Maps

sign.gifview.gif

SIGN / VIEW
OUR GUEST BOOK

You can view our Guest Book here

beachdivider.gif

A-kb-banner.gif
A-holiday2.gif
Villa in Malindi for sale
onlinebooking.gif
for any hotel at the beach
Central Reservations
Information
Price Confirmation
Your Requests
A-telephone.gif
INFO HOTLINE
home1.gif
Home
contactus.gif
Write to us
next.gif
back to travel
Updated: 2 June 2008 - Copyright © 1998-2009, Web pages authored by STUDIO 2001